Dmitri Shostakovich: Sonata for viola and piano Op. 147.

Dmitri Shostakovich
Sonata for viola and piano.
Op. 147
Year: 1975
Kim Kashkashian, viola
Robert Levin, piano

The Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op. 147 is the last composition by Dmitri Shostakovich. Completed in July 1975, just weeks before his death, it is dedicated to Fyodor Druzhinin, violist in the Beethoven Quartet.[1] The work received its official premiere in October 1975 with the performing forces of violist Fyodor Druzhinin and pianist Mikhail Muntyan. Appearing at the end of the composer's compositional output, the Sonata for Viola and Piano effectively represents the bleak, mortality-obsessed late style composition of Shostakovich.

Read more >>>


Popular posts from this blog

Nikolay Gumilev: My Thoughts

Alexander Blok: On This Sad Earth